From Darkness to Light

Posted on 2006-12-18. Filed under: Thoughts |

God is calling us from darkness into light.

Today I am going to the funeral of someone who did not heed that call. He had sin in his life – some serious issues that he for whatever reason did not take to God. And, without getting into all of it, he is now dead.

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 Jn 1:19

It’s painful and it hurts and it’s confusing sometimes but it’s healing and it’s restorative and it’s curing. As James said in 5:16:

Therefore, confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another so that you may be healed The effective prayer of a righteous man can accomplish much.

It’s what god calls us to do; it’s part of our pursuit of him. His spirit reveals to us those things that need to be brought out and cleansed with his truth. If you don’t take care of it now, it will continue to remain within you and having something rotting inside of you is not good. Ultimately it will affect you badly.

Faith is now [Heb 11:1]! Take action now! Draw into God now!

That doesn’t necessarily (or even usually) mean that you will experience transformation now, because healing takes time. But in order to experience healing from whatever wounds you’ve wracked up or deliverance from whatever you’re in now, you need to begin down the path of healing. And, the first thing to do is find the Healer and have him diagnose you and reveal to you what needs to be healed. Then, allow him to heal you! Obey!

In college, I cut my hand pretty badly. I remember walking down Highway 54 with blood spurting from my palm. I had blood everywhere. I remember a cop passing me while I’m walking down the road covered in blood! When I got to the emergency room, they needed to stitch it up. I don’t take pain killers well. They don’t do much for me. They ended up giving me triple the dose, waited for it to take effect and then began to stitch. I still felt everything they did and involuntarily began writhing in pain. They had to get three orderlies to hold me down – one on my arm, one on my shoulders and one on my hips. So, these three guys held me down while they stitched up my hand. Now, it reminds me of that scene where they remove the spear or arrow from the old guy in Braveheart. There was much yelling, screaming and carrying on. But, it needed doing.

We need to let the healing process occur. And, sometimes we need other people to hold us while it’s happening because it sure hurts like hell!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “From Darkness to Light”

RSS Feed for What of me, dear Lord? Comments RSS Feed

it’s good to know the yelling and screaming is normal

Oh, yeah that’s all normal. It’s when you see blood that you should be concerned. 😛


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

