And He walks with me And He talks with me…

Posted on 2006-12-25. Filed under: Thoughts |

… And He tells me I am His own

I read this great quote recently from Frederick Buechner:

If God speaks to us at all other than through such official channels as the Bible and the church, then I think that he speaks to us largely through what happens to us… if we keep our hearts and minds open as well as our ears, if we listen with patience and hope, if we remember at all deeply and honestly, then I think we come to recognize, beyond all doubt, that, however faintly we may hear him, he is indeed speaking to us, and that, however little we may understand of it, his word to each of us is both recoverable and precious beyond telling.

I really like this quote. For a long time, I didn’t hear much from God. I used to all the time. And now I am again. Right now, I’m too muddle-headed to think back and try to figure out why or how things changed either time. But, I’m glad that he is speaking into my life again. Like tonight, as I was unpacking the truck, he answered a question I’ve had about some of my past behavior and whether or not it was stealing. I’ve waited for that answer for four or five years and it came so quickly, easily and clearly tonight. Thanks be to God!!

Some people are better able to hear God during the wee hours of the morning and others are better able to listen in the evening. I have found that I am better able to listen while I’m doing other things. Maybe that’s a man thing – talking while you’re doing something. Or, maybe that’s a symptom of ADD. (“God, I have something important to talk with you about.” “Oh, I forgot to lather my hair.” “You see, God, there’s this thing.” “OK, I need to shave.” “What should I say to them, God?” “I need to print out driving directions after I get out of the shower.” “Should I wait to say that to them?” “Now it’s time to rinse.”) That’s actually more organized than my prayers actually are.

But, I do know that God is able to sift through all the junk and hear what I’m truly saying as only a true friend can!!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

