I shall be free

Posted on 2007-01-07. Filed under: Questions, Thoughts |

Thanks be to God for his overwhelming kindness and love

I really suck at just “being”. Now, there’s a way to start a post…

That was what I was going to try and do this past week and it didn’t quite work. I did, however, takes some time off from posting. I’ve been trying to draw closer to God and understand how to live holy.

Paul said in Romans 7:

(5-6) For while we were in the flesh, the sinful passions, which were aroused by the Law, were at work in the members of our body to bear fruit for death. But now we have been released from the Law, having died to that by which we were bound, so that we serve in newness of the Spirit and not in oldness of the letter.

(14-25) For we know that the Law is spiritual, but I am of flesh, sold into bondage to sin. For what I am doing, I do not understand; for I am not practicing what I would like to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate. But if I do the very thing I do not want to do, I agree with the Law, confessing that the Law is good. So now, no longer am I the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me. For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh; for the willing is present in me, but the doing of the good is not. For the good that I want, I do not do, but I practice the very evil that I do not want. But if I am doing the very thing I do not want, I am no longer the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me. I find then the principle that evil is present in me, the one who wants to do good. For I joyfully concur with the law of God in the inner man, but I see a different law in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin which is in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will set me free from the body of this death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, on the one hand I myself with my mind am serving the law of God, but on the other, with my flesh the law of sin.

Well, I’m glad Paul did not understand what he was doing because I sure as hell don’t understand what I am doing. I mean, is my life so boring that my flesh decides it needs its own fantasy life in my head and in my emotions? I just don’t understand it either, Paul.

I have a vision for my life. I desire to fulfill the destiny that God has provided for me. So, why can’t I focus lately? It seems that I am constantly beset by illicit thoughts.

Paul goes on to say in Chapter 8:

(1-2) Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has set you free from the law of sin and of death.

(5-9) For those who are according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who are according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit. For the mind set on the flesh is death, but the mind set on the Spirit is life and peace, because the mind set on the flesh is hostile toward God; for it does not subject itself to the law of God, for it is not even able to do so, and those who are in the flesh cannot please God. However, you are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God dwells in you But if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Him.

So, first you say there’s no condemnation and then you sure make me feel condemned or at least convicted. I am actively trying to control my thoughts. It really makes me wonder how much control I have over anything if I can’t even control my own thoughts. Paul says in another letter (2 Corinthians):

(3-5) For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh, for the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh, but divinely powerful for the destruction of fortresses. We are destroying speculations and every lofty thing raised up against the knowledge of God, and we are taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ

So, how does one take a thought captive? Because I would like to capture these sons of bitches, strangle them and crush their windpipes. I try to think on other things; I pray; I worship. But, when the thoughts come, if I’m not paying attention to what I’m doing, I enjoy them. Oh, wretched man that I am, indeed, Paul!

Maybe this week, I should try to stay in my “hole” again because it seems like these thoughts and emotions come upon me more often when I am out and about than when I am alone and focused on my work.

Father, you are mighty beyond measure and I submit myself to your authority. I thank you for not giving up on me and for always loving me as you do. Give me enough grace to come into your holiness. I desire you. Fill me so that no other desires have room to abide. Thank you, Amen.

It is as John Donne said in Batter My Heart:

Batter my heart, three personed God; for you
As yet but knock, breathe, shine and seek to mend,
That I may rise and stand, o’erthrow me and bend
Your force, to break, blow, burn and make me new,
I, like an usurped town, to another due,
Labor to admit you, but, oh, to no end;
Reason, your viceroy in me, me should defend;
But is captive and proves weak or untrue.

Yet dearly I love you and would be loved fain;
But am betrothed unto your enemy;
Divorce me, untie or break that knot again,
Take me to you, imprison me, for I,
Except you enthrall me, never shall be free,
Nor ever chaste, except you ravish me.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “I shall be free”

RSS Feed for What of me, dear Lord? Comments RSS Feed

Philippians 4
8Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

It’s less about avoiding the bad and more
about choosing the good. It’s hard to sin
when you are pursing God. We’re here for you

> Philippians 4:8
Absolutely, thank you for the reminder.

> It’s hard to sin when you are pursing God.
I think that statement is a little too broad or encompassing. Look at Paul. He was pursuing God and was still dealing with unwanted sin in his life (see Rom 7 above). I’m not trying to avoid the bad. I’m trying to confront the bad and overcome it. I take it to God in my prayers and ask where it came from, why it’s there and how do we remove it. I wait on him for an answer. Some days are better than others. And, I agree that’s not all that should be done. The good should be pursued as well. Thanks.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

