The Pursuit of Happyness

Posted on 2007-02-07. Filed under: Life, Thoughts |

OK – I know I said I was going to bed and I tried but it didn’t work out. I just can’t sleep.

So, me with my ADHD is sitting here

  1. cleaning out some email
  2. reading through some old lyrics
  3. installing SQL Server 2005
  4. reading Psalm 101 as I do every day
  5. clearing out things on my to-do list
  6. writing this post

Yep, that’s how I work. It’s one reason I didn’t fit well in a corporate atmosphere. Anyway, I thought this would be a good time to write a review of a movie I saw recently, The Pursuit of Happyness.

This movie was good for me. It reminded me of a few things. First off, it reminded me of how I want to be a great father to my children. This quote sums up Will Smith’s character’s perspective on fatherhood: “I met my father for the first time when I was 28 years old. I made up my mind that when I had children, my children were going to know who their father was.” Now, that statement doesn’t mirror my life’s experience but there is a similarity in that I want my children to know who I am. And I don’t mean I want them to just know things about me. I want them to know how I think, how I make decisions, how I approach life. It also doesn’t mean I want them to be just like me. But, I want them to know me well enough that they can take the good qualities I have and reject the bad qualities as they grow and mature. That’s a powerful concept to me and something I think about. It’s all about making an impact and that is what I desire.

The other thing in the movie that I really liked was the character’s persistence in the pursuit of his dream. Here’s another quote: “You got a dream, you gotta protect it. People can’t do something themselves, they wanna tell you that you can’t do it. You want something? Go get it. Period.” That is great advice to anything. There are things that you tell people and there are other things that you keep to yourself. Your dreams – the ones that you really care about – are things that you keep to yourself. You don’t need to be spreading those around, especially if they are still fragile. You let your dreams get some legs under them before you expose them to the world. One caveat on that: Just because you don’t expose them to the world doesn’t mean you don’t expose them to a few select people that you know will support your dream. You baby your dreams while your dreams are still babies.

I have dreams – dreams of all kinds. And few people know much about them. They see things that I do and usually assume that I do them for a totally different reason than what is real. In reality, most of what I do is in pursuit of one dream or another.

Here’s one more quote that I liked from the movie: “This part of my life… this part right here? This part is called “being stupid.” For myself, I wonder which part of my life will stand out from the rest enough to get that honor?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

