Church at CrossPointe

Posted on 2007-07-29. Filed under: Life, Thoughts |

I went to CrossPointe today for service; I was at the 11 am service. I got there right at the end of “turn around and greet your neighbor”. It’s a very informal church – very relaxed and I’m not sure how I felt about that. This morning, they showed a video interview of Bono from U2 so I didn’t get to hear the pastor speak much. However, I did enjoy the interview. Bono spoke on a few things that made me think.

He spoke of the lack of duality in CCM – that there is no tension, no sense of fighting a battle or overcoming. Everything is pretty happy in Christian music and it just doesn’t ring true to him and his experience. I would agree with him on this. I don’t listen to a whole lot of CCM because it just doesn’t touch me primarily due to its sheer happiness. Bono said that if we were to look for the equivalent of David’s Psalms in today’s music, it would probably be found in the Blues. 🙂 I love the Blues!

He also spoke of the organization that he’s setup called One. They are advocates for those that he says are in stupid poverty. He said that we’ll always have poverty but some of it is just stupid – it’s fixable now and shouldn’t exist. He said that Jesus only spoke of judgement one time (not sure about that) and that was when in Matthew 25:31-46 that starts out this way:

But when the Son of Man comes in His glory, and all the angels with Him, then He will sit on His glorious throne.“All the nations will be gathered before Him; and He will separate them from one another, as the shepherd separates the sheep from the goats; and He will put the sheep on His right, and the goats on the left. “Then the King will say to those on His right, ‘Come, you who are blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.‘For I was hungry, and you gave Me something to eat; I was thirsty, and you gave Me something to drink; I was a stranger, and you invited Me in; naked, and you clothed Me; I was sick, and you visited Me; I was in prison, and you came to Me.’

He said that the distinguishing factor between the sheep and the goats in this passage was how you physically cared for the downtrodden: the hungry & thirsty (poor), strangers, naked, sick and imprisoned. That really struck me. I had never really focused on that passage in that way before. It reminded me that Faith without works is dead and that I needed to focus more on helping others where they’re at and not just those that it’s comfortable or easy to help but to help even those for whom helping is annoying.

There were some other things that he said that I liked but I really can’t remember them right now. I am glad that I went – just for the way that he expounded on that passage. That is something I’ll carry with me for the rest of my life.

I didn’t really have any conversations with the people in the church. I guess because I got there a little late. I may go back; I’m not sure. One thing I didn’t like is that the church was really pale; there wasn’t a whole lot of diversity.

We’ll see…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

