I belong to you

Posted on 2007-09-16. Filed under: Thoughts |

This morning, I woke up a little groggy and began to make some coffee. When I realized that it was cool outside, I opened some windows and just enjoyed the chill as I wore a blue t-shirt and some cargo shorts. As I enjoyed the breeze and waited for the coffee to boil, I read some more of the Prayer book and all of a sudden the thought came to me that this is a relationship book for me & my Well Beloved. I’ve read a lot of relationship books but I never before thought about one for me and my Lord/Father/Friend/Lover. While I need his letter to me (the Bible) to show me who He is, I also need books like this to show me how to talk with him – how to communicate, both in giving and receiving.

This book has shown me so much of how to interact with God. A lot of it isn’t new but a lot is too. It brings together prayer traditions for many parts of the Church Family and from many eras. It’s good to have more than one way to communicate because the same way doesn’t always work.

This morning, as I finished the chapter on The Prayer of the Heart, I feel such peace. My soul is at rest and I enjoyed some intimate, quiet time with Him. And I kept repeating, “I belong to you,” because it is true. I am His and He is mine. And regardless of what happens in my life, that will continue to be true ALWAYS. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

I just found this song in my collection from Superchick, I Belong to You. Even though I have the song, I don’t think I’ve ever heard it before.

Everybody needs to belong to somewhere; life can feels so alone without some one who cares. And when life becomes something just to get through, that’s when I’m glad that I belong to you.

I belong to you, you’re the one who will never let me down, won’t let me down. I belong to you. I belong to you.

Sometimes life brings more pain than we can bear alone. When hope is gone and I have no more strength to stand on my own, when nothing helps, there’s nothing that I can do, you surround me and show me I belong to you.

I belong to you. I belong to you, you’re the one who will never let me down, won’t let me down, I belong to you.

Love is gone there’s no arms to run to anymore, I’m all alone there’s no one for me to live for, letting go of the things I’ve always clung to, that’s when I need to feel that I belong to you.

I belong to you, I belong to you you’re the one who will never let me down, won’t let me down. I belong to you.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

